Windsor’s restored historic streetcar, built in 1918 and the last one left in the city and a symbol of the community’s transportation ingenuity, will be showcased in a glass gallery on the riverfront at Askin Avenue.
The proposed centrepiece of the planned Celestial Beacon, one of five destinations along the six-kilometre waterfront from Hiram Walker to the Ambassador Bridge, will be a climate-controlled, 450-square-metre gallery featuring a green roof that will be built into the embankment to preserve the view of the water from Riverside Drive.
We apologize, but this video has failed to load.
The names of the communities and the stops that the streetcars served — Sandwich, Walkerville, Ojibway, Ouellette, Ford, the ferry and more — will be written on the sides of the gallery. They came from the streetcar’s scroll, found embedded in the vehicle more than 80 years after it stopped running in 1939.
A building housing a concession stand, washrooms and bike rentals will be attached to the gallery. There will be an observation deck — accessible from the trail along Riverside Drive — on top of the building. A 1,200-square-metre covered patio with chairs and tables, accessible from the riverfront trail, will face the water.